On July 18, the Federal Emergency Management Agency agreed to the state of Missouri’s request to consider expanding last week’s federal disaster declaration. FEMA agreed to re-evaluate the request for inclusion of 21 counties, including Dallas, that were denied federal assistance July 9. FEMA agreed to do the following:

• Conduct new damage assessment with the State Emergency Management Agency and local officials in counties where newly identified damaged homes have been found.

• Use ground teams to more fully assess areas that had previously been reviewed only by helicopter.

• Re-evaluate insurance levels and income levels as factors in the ability to recover in some of the affected counties.

The 21 counties are Adair, Barton, Callaway, Christian, Clark, Cooper, Dallas, Douglas, Gasconade, Grundy, Harrison, Hickory, Howard, Jefferson, Laclede, Lewis, Macon, Polk, Saline, St. Louis and Ste. Genevieve. All 21 counties had been denied assistance in President Donald Trump’s July 9 federal disaster declaration.

FEMA has also agreed to conduct joint damage assessments with SEMA and local officials in Cape Girardeau, Marion, Newton and McDonald counties. These four counties have not previously been assessed.   

FEMA said the damage assessments were to begin July 23.

Gov. Mike Parson said he appreciated FEMA moving forward with the state’s requests, which were made July 16.

“Missourians are still hurting and working hard to rebuild and get their lives back on track as a result of the flooding and severe storms that began impacting our state back in March,” Parson said. “The residents of these 25 counties deserve prompt action based on a complete assessment of all the damage they’ve sustained and the circumstances affecting their efforts to recover.”

If approved, FEMA individual assistance would allow eligible residents to seek federal assistance for temporary housing, housing repairs, replacement of damaged belongings, vehicles and other qualifying expenses as a result of the flooding and storms.

Trump’s July 9 disaster declaration was for flooding and severe storms and made the federal individual assistance program available to eligible residents in Andrew, Atchison, Boone, Buchanan, Carroll, Chariton, Cole, Greene, Holt, Jackson, JasperLafayette, Lincoln, Livingston, Miller, Osage, Pike, Platte, Pulaski and St. Charles counties. 

As of July 17, FEMA has approved more than 500 households for individual assistance grants and provided more than $2.3 million directly to the survivors to help with their recovery.

FEMA’s National Flood Insurance Program has paid more than $18 million to Missouri policyholders for flood claims filed since March.

To register for FEMA assistance, go to DisasterAssistance.gov or register by phone by calling (800) 621-FEMA (3362). Telephone registration is available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m. (local time), seven days a week.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.