The following names were either elected or appointed since 1938 as Dallas County justices of the peace. They are listed by name, township and date of commission.

• Arthur Darby, Lincoln, February 1938.

• M.H. Darby, Lincoln, November 1938.

• J.A. Brownfield, Wilson, November 1938.

• G.V. Hildebrand, Sherman, November 1938.

• W.A. Burns, South Benton, November 1938.

• W.E. Millard, Jasper, November 1938.

• W.L. Morrow**, North Benton, November 1938.

• R.A. Ramsey**, North Benton, November 1938.

• M.C. Lutrell**, Jasper, November 1938.

• W.R. Haston, Washington, November 1938.

• P.E. Sallee*, Sheridan, November 1938.

• J.A. Creek, North Benton, February 1939 (appointed).

• C.E. Lemons, Grant, March 1939 (appointed).

• W.A. Howe**, Jackson, May 1939 (appointed).

• T.J. Wilkerson, North Benton, August 1939 (appointed).

• P.E. Sallee, Jackson, November 1939 (appointed).

*As of 1940, P.E. Sallee was not serving in Sheridan Township.

**W.L. Morrow, R.A. Ramsey, M.C. Lutrell and W.A. Howe were no longer in office.

Reported by Ella Burd, WPA worker, with an interview with Ralph Jackson, deputy county clerk.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.